This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clearwater.edu/History Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History Databases

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750- EBSCO

Database Subject Coverage
  • British in America
  • Commerce
  • Discoveries
  • Dutch in America
  • French in America
  • Great Britain—Colonies
  • Jesuits (and other religious orders) in America
  • Pirates
  • Slave Trade

CBCA Complete: History- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Canada
  • Canadian history and issues

Research Library: History- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Civilizations
  • Historical studies
  • Military history
  • Periods & events
  • US history
  • World history

Encyclopedia Britannica Online-Academic Edition

This resource delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. This database combines Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools that provide the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research.

 

 

History- Subject Guide

In This Guide You Will Find:

This subject guide focuses on information and resources dedicated to the study of American and world  history. You will find links to online research databases and print resources related to history, resources recommended by a librarian or professor, suggested Internet sites, featured books in our collection and more.

 

 

Finding Books and Journals

Finding Books

Books at the Easter Library are organized according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system. Each call number range represents a particular subject. See below for a few examples of call number assignments for books related to history. For a complete breakdown of these classes and their subcategories, please see the LC Classification link below.

  • D-DX - World History
  • E 11-143 - America
  • E 151-909 - United States
  • F 1-975 - United States Local History
  • F 1001-1145.2 - British America (Including Canada); Dutch America
  • F 1170 - French America
  • F 1201-3799 - Latin America; Spanish America

LC Classification Outline

Online: You can also find a wide variety of ebooks online using EBSCO's eBook Collection.

Journals

Print:

You can find print journals by searching the online catalog or browsing the collection in the library (arranged alphabetically by title).

E-Journals:

The library subscribes and offers access to several databases that contain both citations and full-text articles for numerous journal articles. EBSCO Academic Search Complete and ProQuest offer the largest variety, covering different disciplines.

 

Internet Resources

  • The Charters of Freedom (National Archives)  
    Presented by the National Archives, this website includes the Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the United States, and Bill of Rights. You can also find high resolution images of the charters on the site and much more.
  • NARA: National Archives and RecordsAdministration  
    The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by NARA forever.

Librarian

Profile Image
Cindy Hyer
Contact Info
727-726-1153 ext.247
Easter Library, L112
Send Email
Specialties:
Reference, Collection Development, Events and Programs, Database Searching, Writing Process and Workshops
 

Comments?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip