This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clearwater.edu/Mathematics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mathematics Software

Sage can be used to study elementary and advanced, pure and applied mathematics.

Sage: Open Source Mathematics Software

 

Databases For Mathematics

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Database Subject Coverage

  • Equations
  • Logic and Analysis
  • Mathematics Magazine
  • Teaching Mathematics

Business Source Premier - EBSCO

Database Subject Coverage

  • Theory
  • Mathematical Engineering
  • Programming

Science Journals- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Physics

Research Library: Science and Technology- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Computing
 

Mathematics- Subject Guide

In This Guide You Will Find:

This subject guide focuses on information and resources related to mathematics. You will find links to online research databases and print resources related to math, resources recommended by a librarian or professor, suggested Internet sites, featured books in our collection and more.

 

Finding Books and Journals

Books

Books at the Easter Library are organized according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system. Each call number range represents a particular subject. See below for a few examples of call number assignments for books related to mathematics. For a complete breakdown of these classes and their subcategories, please see the LC Classification link below.

  • QA1-939 - Mathematics
  • QA1-43 - General
  • QA47-59 - Tables
  • QA71-90 - Instruments and Machines
  • QA101-145 - Elementary Mathematics. Arithmetic
  • QA150-272.5 - Algebra
  • QA273-280 - Probabilities. Mathematical Statistics
  • QA299.6-433 - Analysis
  • QA440-699 - Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
  • QA801-939 - Analytic Mechanics

LC Classification Outline   

Online: You can also find a wide variety of ebooks online using  EBSCO's eBook Collection.

Journals

Print:

You can find print journals by searching the online catalog or browsing the collection in the library (arranged alphabetically by title).

E-Journals:

The library subscribes and offers access to several databases that contain both citations and full-text articles for numerous journal articles. EBSCO Academic Search Complete and ProQuest offer the largest variety, covering different disciplines.

 

Internet Resources

Algebra Help
Algebra Help uses some of the latest technology to help you learn and understand algebra. This web site features lessons to learn or refresh old skills, calculators that show you how to solve problems step-by-step, and interactive worksheets to test your skills.
Calculators
Useful calculators from basic, square root, scientific and Trigonometry.
e-Calculus
e-Calculus is a Calculus I tutorial. Features include verbose discussion of topics, inline examples and exercises with solutions, multiple choice quizzes, and pop-up graphics.
Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics
A full-text searchable, comprehensive alphabetical encyclopedia of math terms, equations, and derivations, with explanations, examples, references, and much more.
HMC Mathematics Online Tutorial
An online tutorial that explores single-variable Calculus, multi-variable Calculus, linear Algebra, and differential equations.
The MacTutor History of Mathematics
a collection of interesting facts about math history, including biographies of famous mathematicians
Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
This collection of Mathematics-related resources is maintained by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics as a free service to the online community.
Patterns in Mathematics
Some people say that mathematics is the science of patterns. That's not a bad description. Not only do patterns take many forms over the range of school mathematics, they are also a unifying theme. Visit the lab and explore logic, number, and word problems.

Library Director

Profile Image
Cindy Hyer
Contact Info
727-726-1153 ext.247
Easter Library, L116
Send Email
Specialties:
Budget and Acquisitions, Reference, Collection Development, Events and Programs, Database Searching, Writing Process and Workshops
 

American Mathematical Society

 

Comments?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip