This is the "Home" page of the "Pre-Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pre-Medicine  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clearwater.edu/PreMedicine Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Medical Databases

Pharmaceutical News Index- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare research
  • Development
  • Regulatory issues

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Traumatic stress and mental health sequelae
  • Assessment
  • Prevention
  • Treatment
  • Mental health services
  • Professional ethics
  • Public Policy
  • Traumatized populations

Family Health- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Women's health
  • Food and nutrition
  • Midwifery
  • Eye care
  • Dentistry
  • Children's health

Health and Medical Complete- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Physiology
  • Anatomy
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmacology
  • Microbiology
  • Immunology
  • Pathology
  • Diseases
  • Nervous system
  • Psychiatry
  • Surgery
  • Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • Dermatology
  • Pediatrics
  • Geriatrics, Dentistry
  • Otolaryngology
  • Ophthalmology

Health Management- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Health administration
  • Health professions
  • Hospitals
  • Insurance
  • Law
  • Statistics
  • Business
  • Management
  • Personnel
  • Ethics

Nursing and Allied Health Source- ProQuest

Database Subject Coverage

  • Nursing
  • Allied health
  • Physical therapy
  • Occupational therapy
  • Cytology
  • Histology
  • Physiology
  • Anatomy
  • Gerontology
  • Geriatrics


 

Pre-Medicine- Subject Guide

In This Guide You Will Find:

This subject guide focuses on information and resources dedicated to the study of health & medicine. You will find links to online research databases and print resources in the medical sciences, resources recommended by a librarian or professor, suggested Internet sites, featured books in our collection, and more.

 

Finding Books and Journals

Books

Books at the Easter Library are organized according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system. Each call number range represents a particular subject. See below for a few examples of call number assignments for books related to health and medical science. For a complete breakdown of these classes and their subcategories, please see the LC Classification link below.

  • R - Medicine. General
  • RA - Public aspects of medicine
  • RB - Pathology
  • RC - Internal medicine
  • RD - Surgery
  • RE - Opthamology
  • RJ - Pediatrics
  • RT - Nursing
  • RZ - Other systems of medicine

LC Classification Outline

Online: You can also find a wide variety of ebooks online using EBSCO's eBook Collection.

Journals

Print:

You can find print journals by searching the online catalog or browsing the collection in the library (arranged alphabetically by title).

E-Journals:

The library subscribes and offers access to several databases that contain both citations and full-text articles for numerous journal articles. EBSCO Academic Search Complete and ProQuest offer the largest variety, covering different disciplines.

 

Internet Resources

  • American Medical Association 
    Their mission is to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. The American Medical Association helps doctors help patients by uniting physicians nationwide to work on the most important professional and public health issues.
  • ClinicalTrials.gov 
    ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
  • Florida Dept. of Health: Public Health Statistics 
  • Images from the History of Medicine 
    Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
  • Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) 
    The MeSH Browser is an online vocabulary look-up aid available for use with MeSH® (Medical Subject Headings). It is designed to help quickly locate descriptors of possible interest and to show the hierarchy in which descriptors of interest appear. This is a useful resource to help you determine the best subject terms for your research.
  • MedlinePlus 
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
  • TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network 
    Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
  • U.S. National Library of Medicine 
    The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.
  • Unified Medical Language System: UMLS 
    Links health information, medical terms, drug names, and billing codes across different computer systems.
 

Free Medical Journals

Free Medical Journals 

The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet. Topics include medical, biology, cardiology, neurology, oncology, and more.

Librarian

Profile Image
Cindy Hyer
Contact Info
727-726-1153 ext.247
Easter Library, L112
Send Email
Specialties:
Reference, Collection Development, Events and Programs, Database Searching, Writing Process and Workshops
 

Comments?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip